Pantser or Plotter or

I’ve been a lifelong discovery writer up until 2018, but after discovering how story structure can help my writing, I’m now a Plantser, a discovery writer with an appreciation for genre conventions and obligatory scenes. Which kind of writer are you?

4 Likes

I’m a respectful plotter. I like a plan to know where I’m going, but I want to always respect how it feels while I’m drafting scenes.

2 Likes

I started out as a pantser. It didn’t really work out for me. I would end up removing half of what I wrote. After taking Daniel’s classes, I become a plotter and write what I need. I’m not wasting as much time now that I’m plotting things out. I save my “pantsing” for my pre-writing.

4 Likes

I’m more of a plotter, putting my scene idea on notecards. The pants thing helped me learn some skills like how to keep going and trusting my muse, but it’s not great for structure unless you’re a natural at it.

I try to be a flexible plotter. I remember seeing a film of Coppola making Apocalypse Now where he’s sitting at a typewriter developing new or revised scenes in the midst of filming. I have my notecards but I’m not afraid to destroy weak ones and develop new ones as the story goes on.

4 Likes

There is something to be said for a quick rip of fools cap and felt-tip making large progress on the “big” picture of an idea, premise, or even the merest singular thought. But, at some point, a dozen to twenty characters later, a hundred to two hundred pages in the stack; scenes and settings, and all those “other” things truly need to mesh. I’m thankful I can turn to my three-column grid of beats and mend all those noisome plot holes and stitch up them errant threads threatening to ravel at the very next turn of the screw.

3 Likes