Loose leaf or bound?

I would like to know what methods others use to outline or coordinate their novel plans? For example; is it better to use loose leaf pages / index cards so you can move stuff around, have a bound journal so everything can be held together and read like a typical book, how does the system you use work for world building etc.??
I am in the process of pre-writing a first draft and haven’t really found a good way to layout the details. Any tips or thoughts you have are welcome! Thanks in advance too.

4 Likes

I’m a big fanfiction writer, so a lot of the stuff I write has some worldbuilding already layered into it, but I also like to participate in quarterly contests online that result in a lot of fandom-blind reader traffic. For those stories, I have to make sure I have just enough worldbuilding for people unfamiliar with the world to understand it, but not enough so they feel overwhelmed–so, a lot like original fiction.

I like to use loose-leaf, college ruled notebook paper, folded in half from top to bottom with each scene number circled out to the side. I find it’s the easiest way for me to write and review my outlines. I don’t have to read all the way across the page, and once I’ve written all the way down one half of one side of the page, I really feel like I’ve gotten somewhere. Plus, the scene numbers help me navigate the outline quickly.

I have two three-ring binders–one for stories in progress, and one for completed stories. Everything’s labeled and in chronological order, that way, if I want to go back to some of my notes, I can find them again easily.

I tried using a journal once… Pardon the pun, but it just felt too binding. The freedom of loose-leaf seems to suit me better.

2 Likes