Having trouble with a Red Herring

I think this is the right place for this, it’s the only category that seems to fit :smile:
I suddenly got the idea (likely too late in the evening for my brain to handle :grinning:) of making a scene a red herring. This would mean that I wouldn’t have to do a complete re-write of the chapter and maybe the chapter after. Problem is I’ve never written a red herring before :blush: Can someone tell me how to go about this? My heroine has been kidnapped and my first thought was to have her be held in a room above a restaurant. But on second thought the rescue wouldn’t be dramatic enough or as remote a setting as I wanted it. I want to leave the restaurant as a red herring. Does anyone have any suggestions or advice? I’ve looked on the internet but that just confused me and our library system is closed right now.
If this needs to go in another category please let me know. I haven’t posted enough here yet to know the ins and outs, thanks.

3 Likes

Can you explain a bit more? How is the restaurant a red herring?

Do you mean it seems like she is in red trouble but she actually gets rescued immediately?

To me, a red herring is more like “she is told early on that her husband is the murderer but actually it’s just a red herring — the real killer is someone else.”

1 Like

Hmmmm. Perhaps have the rescuers become convinced the restaurant is where she’s being held. Everything can then be the same as you (probably) have already written or planned, except the room above is empty. No indication at all anything happened there - maybe dusty etc with no disturbance showing. So your hot tip/deduction/whatever turns out to be flat wrong.
Is that what you mean?

2 Likes