Creative non-fiction

Hi all, I am taking a graduate-level creative writing class at the university where I work. I don’t write creative non-fiction, but I believe I can learn techniques that will be applicable to my fiction work. (This was the only class available this fall that I could take, so I went with it.)

What are your experiences with creative non-fiction?

4 Likes

I don’t know if this would be creative non-fiction or not. Would this be better to put under a new topic, or does it belong here? I’m fourteen chapters into a narrative about how our family navigated the world of parental dementia. It reads like fiction, but every word is true. I’ll have to change the names before even thinking of publishing it. It occurred to me that it would make a great novel, if only I knew how to write one. I’m a journalist.

2 Likes

My CoffeeHouse group has a creative non-fic writer who journals her sabbatical year(s) in Europe when she briefly considered taking vows as she traveled through northern Italy. From my understanding, anything can be literary non-fiction–as creative non-fiction was once called after we stopped calling it literary journalism–as long as it has an appreciable degree of “literary” devise, or some element of novel structure.

2 Likes

I’ve written a 2-book ‘duology’ based on a woman’s extraordinary life in the mid-nineteenth century. I obtained a lot of information from the newspapers of the time but I had to fill in the blanks from my imagination. Is that Creative Non-fiction or is that Fiction based on a True Story? I have not published it yet. (Pardon the capitalization!)

2 Likes